Finally made it to Greece!!! On our flight to Greece, Abbi sat next to this guy who was a Greek diplomat working in Jordan. He was really nice and made us a list of things that we should do and see while we were there. I was also sitting next to a guy who was from DC and just spent a couple of weeks in Jordan--small world! When we got to the airport I was throwing out marhaba’s (hello), shukran’s (thank you) and asif’s (sorry) like there was no more tomorrow. I sort of learned some Greek words, efharisto (thank you) and parakalo (sorry), so I now I am just all sorts of confused!
Abbi’s host sister recently married a Greek guy, so they picked us up from the airport and took us to his mother’s house. We spent the rest of the day with them, and Batool and Alkis (host sister and husband) took us around Athens and then to our hotel--they are so nice!!
| Our lovely hosts after lunch |
Our first day here was pretty overcast and the weather was pretty gross, but we still walked around. We went to some of the monuments and looked at them, as well as walked through the market. It’s been nice--relaxing while at the same time we are able to see some of the sights of Greece. Hopefully the weather starts to get a little bit nicer and that the temperature picks up. I’m just happy to be able to see trees and grass!!
No comments:
Post a Comment